Humanity | Homelessness

America’s Libraries & The Unhoused Population

Public places are the only refuge for the homeless

TB Obwoge
2 min readMay 23, 2024

--

Thursday, 23 May 2024

By: TB Obwoge

I’ve been dealing with the deepest depression of my life. I started walking the several blocks to my local library, a place where I thought I could have total peace, free wifi and electricity to charge my devices when they needed to be charged.

However what I ended up doing was shooting dice, walking into a place in which day to day changes, depending on who is there.

On average the costs of a one bedroom for one month, cost more than I paid for a 13-month lease in Ghana. I paid $2,300 USD, which included the water and trash, yes for an entire year.

Authors Photo

Many Americans are paying from $1,000 to $2,000 a month for a one bedroom apartment, some areas you can find a 2-bedroom. However in a lot of states and cities, you can only rent one single room for that amount.

In New York City, you can forget about it! The rent there is so high you can’t even imagine how much some people are paying. I recently saw a video where New Yorker’s were paying that much for these odd, tiny apartments. One would have to damn near step outside to stand upThe…

--

--

TB Obwoge

Writes about Children Education-AFRICA-🇧🇫🇰🇪🇲🇼traveling-Gender Issues-Mental Health-Child Rights #EndChildMarriage WomensRights🤰🏾= 🇺🇸 ❤️=🇧🇫 💍=🇰🇪