Africa

Why I Don’t Use My Husbands African Surname Why Many Africans Give Their Children ‘English Names’

Self-loathing coupled with the need to be European for acceptance

TB Obwoge
3 min readFeb 7, 2022

--

Public Domain Blank Name Tag

I could end this here and say “fucking racism & fucking tribalism” and go take a nap! So in Kenya people would know not only what area of Kenya my husband comes from but they’d know his tribe. I would be treated accordingly to how whomever I’m dealing with feels towards that said tribe. Plus I’m light skin, Black American (mzungu considered White + a woman)!

All these things would factor into prices I would be charged, the way I’m treated, if I could get a job, apartment or buy a home, anything, thats for in Kenya. (other countries too) Now in any other country they’d fuck up the pronunciation of this said last name (surname) then they’d treat me as an ‘African’ which comes with much hmmm… shall we say RACISM & HATRED?

When I have told people that I live in Ghana & I am in the United States people say; “WOW YOUR ENGLISH IS SO GOOD”!

  • English is the fucking official language in many African countries, many Africans speak more 3 or more languages MOST Americans speak only 1*

--

--

TB Obwoge

Writes about Children Education-AFRICA-🇧🇫🇰🇪🇲🇼traveling-Gender Issues-Mental Health-Child Rights #EndChildMarriage WomensRights🤰🏾= 🇺🇸 ❤️=🇧🇫 💍=🇰🇪